Tuesday, April 3, 2012

The 5 Love Languages of Children Review and Giveaway

On Sunday's I volunteer at my church as a Sunday school teacher for 4th graders. Our class is filled with children from different backgrounds, ethnicity's and each have vastly different personalities. It is always so important to communicate with a child in the way he or she understands and can feel valued as an individual. When I received the opportunity to review ” The 5 Love Languages of Children” I was very excited. I knew this book would help me with these kids.

Each child has a unique way of feeling loved. Some kids may like playing games and having personal one on one time with them. Other kids may be huggers and need that to feel loved. This book will show you the 5 love languages and how to identify them.

5 Love Languages

About the book:
To be their best, children need to feel loved. But if you and your child speak different love languages, your affection might get lost in translation, affecting the child’s attitude, behavior, and development. Dr. Gary Chapman’s groundbreaking Five Love Languages series has helped millions of couples communicate love more clearly, and Dr. Ross Campbell M.D. has applied the innovative system to children as well. The 5 Love Languages of Children gives practical suggestions for learning how your children interpret love and creating a sense of security in which they can thrive.

This book was full of information. It is very informative and in it you can discover your child's love language. The book also reviews the connection between learning , discipline and how the love language of your child affects these and other aspects of your lives.

I highly recommend ” The 5 Love Languages of Children” to all parents, grandparents and every person who interact with children on a daily basis. The book offers tips, suggestions and a questionnaire at the back of the book to review with your child. I know that next Sunday when I head to my class, I'll take the tips offered in the book and put them to good use.

Want to know what your love language is? Take the Love Language Assessment. There's a category for husbands, wives, children and others. I took the assessment and my love language is Acts of Service:

Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

Very interesting! And dead on for me. The 5 Love Languages of Children is an excellent tool to build communication with children of any age. For additional reading fun, check out my review on A Perfect Pet for Peyton I wrote a week ago. It's a children's book also written by Dr. Chapman about the 5 Love Languages.

Purchase and Connect
Purchase The 5 Love Languages of Children on their website, ChristianBook or other online retailers.
Learn about The 5 Love Languages
Like them on Facebook
Follow Dr. Gary Chapman on Twitter

Win it!

One lucky reader will win a copy of The 5 Love Languages of Children. All you have to do is fill out the Rafflecopter form below.

Giveaway is open from April 4, 2012 to April 18, 2012 at 11:59EST and is open to US entrants 18 years of age or older. Terms and conditions noted on the Rafflecopter form. Please keep in mind that any mandatory entries must be completed before you do any of the extra entries.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Total Pageviews